Graduate Education Committee

The Graduate Education Committee is a working group made up of 8 faculty members and 9 graduate students from across the university. This initiative is a collaborative effort between GC and Office of the Provost with the goal of assessing all aspects of graduate life, understanding what is working and what is not, and providing recommendations on how to improve the graduate experience at UChicago.

The issues that the Committee could investigate include, but are not limited to: 

  • Career Planning
  • Support for Student Parents
  • Health Insurance and Health Care Issues
  • Financing of Graduate Education 
  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Housing
  • Mentoring and Faculty Advising
  • Teaching Preparation and Opportunities


Interested in helping with the work of the Graduate Education Committee? Click below to get involved!

Questions about the makeup of the committee, the selection process, the goals and aims of the committee's work, or requests for updates on committee logistics may be directed to Graduate Council leadership using our contact form.


Committee Members


Graduate Students

Eric Gauchat (BSD)

Blaize Gervais (Divinity)

Jordan Johansen (Humanities)

Elise Putnam (Humanities)

Taylor Gray (IME)

Joseph Mastron (PSD)

Hannah Burnett (SSD)

Rita Biagioli (SSD)

Sean Blackwell (SSA)

Faculty Members

Jeffrey Russell (Booth)

Erin Adams (BSD)

Vicky Prince (BSD)

Dan Black (Harris)

Cliff Ando (Humanities)

Kevin Corlette (PSD)

Ken Pomeranz (SSD)

Julie Henly (SSA)